Tags

, ,

I had my first experience with hot yoga tonight…. have you tried this yet?  Oh my word.. It’s your standard yoga, but in a room that’s got the heat and humidity up to 95 degrees.. not that’s truly hot.  As we were getting ready to leave I went to grab a towel for a sweat rag and my sister so kindly chimed in – oh I bring a beach towel.  I looked at her like she was nuts and upgraded my rag from a wash cloth to a hand towel.  I should’ve grabbed a beach towel.. I’ll know better next time.

I’ve done yoga before – I took a class in college for my PE credit and did yoga in the park a few times this summer, but boy oh boy, nothing compares to this!  It was sweaty, slippery (from the sweat), and exhausting..  and it was awesome!

I sweat in places I didn’t know I could sweat.  My mat was getting slippery from the sweat – I guess that’s why the beach towel was recommended! There was 85 people in the class and we were mat to mat with little room to spare.  It was rejuvenating, reviving, refreshing and inspiring.  There’s nothing like getting sweaty to give your body a good detox and to give you a feeling of just getting rid of “junk”.  Needless to say I prepaid for the next four sessions so I can come back and start my week off right every Sunday evening at the Funky Buddha Yoga Hot House.

Oh and bonus – I did some research and for my weight and length of the class – I burned about 500 calories!

